Rename systems and planets bug and some suggestions.

Describe your experience with the latest version of FreeOrion to help us improve it.

Moderator: Oberlus

Forum rules
Always mention the exact version of FreeOrion you are testing.

When reporting an issue regarding the AI, if possible provide the relevant AI log file and a save game file that demonstrates the issue.
Post Reply
Message
Author
Ariador
Space Krill
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2024 12:45 pm

Rename systems and planets bug and some suggestions.

#1 Post by Ariador »

Downloaded FreeOrion 0.5 Git 20.08.2023

Guys, I was not impressed by a pair minor but very annoying "improvements". Namely:
Why can't I rename star systems anymore? I used to name my home system as 'Sol'. Who decided to forbid me to do this?
And why the planets rename field now refuses to accept dots in planet names? I used to name my planets like Sol.1, Sol.2, Sol.3 etc. Who decided that dots are not allowed?
Why have I dig into manual editing the savefile to settle these issues?

Could you please set these things back as it was.

Instead, I have a pair of [rather obvious] suggestions for the game fixing and development:

1. The initial predefined size and position of UI windows was set definitely by someone who did not ever played the game and was not going to. What the SitRep window is doing right in the centre of the view?! Could you please pay some attention to this moment.

2. For many version updates, the Config.sys file still doesn't remember the UI windows positions. Many complains I've seen, but all suggestions were like 'You are placing the UI windows wrongly, so it refuses to remember these placements'. Err... I'm a gamer, not a programmer. I don't know about 'wrong' or 'right' placement of windows, I placed them as it's convenient to me and I'm not obliged to count pixels from the screen edge. This is not a feature, it's a bug with these config files, and why would someone not to fix it at last?

3. The starlane bores are still opened randomly and sometimes totally in weird and unpredictable directions. Will be this part ever fixed? Will we ever see the controllable starlane opening to a desired system and nowhere else?

4. Top of the stars and planets technology is currently dragging the planets anywhere and collapsing the black holes. Impressive, hands up. But where the ringworlds and Dyson spheres creation technology? Where the star lighting technology to create new stars in empty systems? Where the planets blasting weapons?

There are lots of good improvements to to with the game instead of forbidding to rename systems and placing dots in planet names.
By the way, could anyone tell me how to edit system names list? There are some too bad and wrong names I'd like not to see at all on my screen.


Yours sincerely,

Ariador

User avatar
LienRag
Cosmic Dragon
Posts: 2296
Joined: Fri May 17, 2019 5:03 pm

Re: Rename systems and planets bug and some suggestions.

#2 Post by LienRag »

Ariador wrote: Mon Jun 10, 2024 1:32 pm By the way, could anyone tell me how to edit system names list? There are some too bad and wrong names I'd like not to see at all on my screen.
It's in the language text files.



Ariador wrote: Mon Jun 10, 2024 1:32 pm Where the planets blasting weapons?
There's a system-blasting weapon, no planet-blasting weapon as of now.
Once you get enough experience of the game to understand the current equilibrium, you can suggest some.



Ariador wrote: Mon Jun 10, 2024 1:32 pmBut where the ringworlds and Dyson spheres creation technology?

They could be valid additions to the game indeed if you know how to make them balanced, don't hesitate to make suggestions.




Ariador wrote: Mon Jun 10, 2024 1:32 pm This is not a feature, it's a bug with these config files, and why would someone not to fix it at last?

No reason that I'm aware of, just that nobody did yet.
You're certainly welcome to do it if you know how (I don't).

User avatar
Grummel7
Space Dragon
Posts: 343
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2017 3:44 pm

Re: Rename systems and planets bug and some suggestions.

#3 Post by Grummel7 »

Ariador wrote: Mon Jun 10, 2024 1:32 pm 3. The starlane bores are still opened randomly and sometimes totally in weird and unpredictable directions. Will be this part ever fixed? Will we ever see the controllable starlane opening to a desired system and nowhere else?
They are not random, if you read and understand the description, you should usually be able to determine which connection you will get. There are cases where the result difficult to tell, but it will always be the same.

Directed bores would be interesting, but not exactly trivial to implement. Buildings have no options that you can specify. Perhaps it could be done using a ship component that you must fly to the target system first.

Ariador
Space Krill
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2024 12:45 pm

Re: Rename systems and planets bug and some suggestions.

#4 Post by Ariador »

I see, I see. Well, this can wait until I'll deal with my own projects and get my hands into all these issues. Meanwhile I'm purging this poor 0.5.0 version and going back to 0.4.9 where at least planets and systems can be renamed as I wish.

User avatar
LienRag
Cosmic Dragon
Posts: 2296
Joined: Fri May 17, 2019 5:03 pm

Re: Rename systems and planets bug and some suggestions.

#5 Post by LienRag »

Starlane bores are working again now ?

Post Reply