Compile SDL Branch in Arch Linux

Questions, problems and discussion about compiling FreeOrion.

Moderator: Oberlus

Message
Author
User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 13587
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

Re: Compile SDL Branch in Arch Linux

#31 Post by Geoff the Medio »

Chriss wrote:Did you do something in FreeOrion code to fix the Boost include problem?
But I guess that the arch package will have that include soon, so it's a temporary thing. And it works.[/quote]Did you answer my (quoted) question?

Chriss
Dyson Forest
Posts: 231
Joined: Sun May 11, 2008 10:50 am

Re: Compile SDL Branch in Arch Linux

#32 Post by Chriss »

Uh, not directly I guess... No, I did not make any changes to the FO code, I added the missing include to my system library's headers.
Attached patches are released under GPL 2.0 or later.

User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 13587
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

Re: Compile SDL Branch in Arch Linux

#33 Post by Geoff the Medio »

Then is there a change that can be made the FO code to avoid needing to patch Boost?

Chriss
Dyson Forest
Posts: 231
Joined: Sun May 11, 2008 10:50 am

Re: Compile SDL Branch in Arch Linux

#34 Post by Chriss »

Mitten.O mentions something like this in the second post here in this thread. As far as I understood it, the idea is to add a preprocessor statement to util/Process.cpp or util/Process.h (the cpp file causing the error in my error log from before) which includes the missing include before boost's shared_pointer.hpp is included if the boost version is 1.57.

Hm... let me try this... Ah, the Hack for boost 1.56 is still there. Attached patch does something similar for the 1.57 issue. I'm compiling now with my system boost reverted.

Edit: Compiles for me with that patch. So currently I need 3 patches:
This patch to work arround the missing boost include.
A patch which removes OISInput.cfg from CMakeList
The Patch for Fonts.cpp from the Gentoo Thread
Attachments

[The extension patch has been deactivated and can no longer be displayed.]

Attached patches are released under GPL 2.0 or later.

pheldens
Pupating Mass
Posts: 96
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 12:54 pm

Re: Compile SDL Branch in Arch Linux

#35 Post by pheldens »

SDL branch 'SVN 7920' now compiles and runs here thanks

User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 13587
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

Re: Compile SDL Branch in Arch Linux

#36 Post by Geoff the Medio »

pheldens wrote:SDL branch 'SVN 7920' now compiles and runs here thanks
Do you mean it compiles with the patch in the previous post, but not without that patch?

pheldens
Pupating Mass
Posts: 96
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 12:54 pm

Re: Compile SDL Branch in Arch Linux

#37 Post by pheldens »

I dont know what fixed it, just happened to retry today with a checkout, had not tried for a month or so

but right now SDL tree builds and runs with this

gcc (GCC) 4.9.2
glibc-2.20
boost_1_56_0
SDL2-2.0.3

User avatar
Vezzra
Release Manager, Design
Posts: 6095
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 12:56 pm
Location: Sol III

Re: Compile SDL Branch in Arch Linux

#38 Post by Vezzra »

pheldens wrote:I dont know what fixed it, just happened to retry today with a checkout
Meaning, you built from a clean checkout, and didn't apply any patches?

Chriss
Dyson Forest
Posts: 231
Joined: Sun May 11, 2008 10:50 am

Re: Compile SDL Branch in Arch Linux

#39 Post by Chriss »

If he's in this thread he probably used the AUR Package for Arch Linux, which applies patches. Not the boost patch any more since Arch's boost package has been fixed meanwhile, but one for Font.cpp, and one that removes references to oisinput.cfg - I've put them in the patches thread I think. The boost patch may still be worth comitting for SDL and trunk, since others may have this issue, too...
Attached patches are released under GPL 2.0 or later.

pheldens
Pupating Mass
Posts: 96
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 12:54 pm

Re: Compile SDL Branch in Arch Linux

#40 Post by pheldens »

I built and ran succesfully like this, didnt apply extra patches myself:

Code: Select all

svn co https://svn.code.sf.net/p/freeorion/code/branches/SDL_Migration_And_Dependencies_Updates/
cd SDL_Migration_And_Dependencies_Updates/
mkdir build
cd build
cmake ../
make -j3
ln -s ../default
./freeorion

User avatar
Dilvish
AI Lead and Programmer Emeritus
Posts: 4768
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 6:25 pm

Re: Compile SDL Branch in Arch Linux

#41 Post by Dilvish »

pheldens wrote:I built and ran succesfully like this, didnt apply extra patches myself:
Please note, our main code now uses SDL; the branch you refer to is rather stale. As of a couple months ago we have also migrated the repo to github; the SVN repo is not getting further updates.
If I provided any code, scripts or other content here, it's released under GPL 2.0 and CC-BY-SA 3.0

pheldens
Pupating Mass
Posts: 96
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 12:54 pm

Re: Compile SDL Branch in Arch Linux

#42 Post by pheldens »

Ok, succefully built and ran git without extra patches thanks.

Code: Select all

git clone https://github.com/freeorion/freeorion.git
mkdir freeorion.build  
cd freeorion.build
cmake ../freeorion
make -j2  
ln -s ../freeorion/default/ .
./freeorion

Post Reply