Using TortoiseSVN and Compiling

Questions, problems and discussion about compiling FreeOrion.

Moderator: Oberlus

Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
Nighthawk
Space Squid
Posts: 76
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 11:00 pm

Using TortoiseSVN and Compiling

#1 Post by Nighthawk »

Okay, I feel really silly, but as this is my first time attempting to actually get a sourcecode from an opensource project, I'm using tortiseSVN and I copied this link: https://freeorion.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/freeorion into the import field. Anyway, now it asks for a username and password. What are they, or am I already doing something wrong?

[sorry, this is my first time using SVN or anything like it]

User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 13587
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

Re: So, how can I actually help?

#2 Post by Geoff the Medio »

You want to checkout, not import.

* Make directory
* Right-click, select TortoiseSVN -> Checkout...
* Enter repository URL
* OK

User avatar
Nighthawk
Space Squid
Posts: 76
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 11:00 pm

Re: So, how can I actually help?

#3 Post by Nighthawk »

Much appreciated. Thank you so much!

I don't know how much help I can be, but hopefully I can do something! I realize everyone wants FreeOrion finished, but the people complaining about it aren't the ones helping.

User avatar
Nighthawk
Space Squid
Posts: 76
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 11:00 pm

Re: So, how can I actually help?

#4 Post by Nighthawk »

I get a fatal error when I try compiling:
It is with Freeorion\trunk\Freeorion\GG\GG

User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 13587
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

Re: So, how can I actually help?

#5 Post by Geoff the Medio »

That's unfortunate. If you post the error message and details such as what OS and compiler you're using, I might be able to diagnose the problem...

Also, since you're trying to checkout the source directly instead of just updating SVN, I'm guessing you didn't download the FreeOrion SDK? Probably the error message is that you're missing various include files, and the fix is to delete the code you have, download the SDK from sourceforge, update from SVN (no need to enter a repository URL; it's already in there), and build again.

User avatar
Nighthawk
Space Squid
Posts: 76
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 11:00 pm

Re: Using TortoiseSVN and Compiling

#6 Post by Nighthawk »

I bet that's the reason?
Yeah, I didn't download the SDK first. I Thought I didn't need to.
I guess I'll try updating it now. Haha

I'll try it and see if it fixes the problem, although I might not be able to find out until tomorrow.

[Even if I can't help with the coding, I know of several talented C++ coders at my School who can. I'll drag them into it. Or something]

User avatar
Nighthawk
Space Squid
Posts: 76
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 11:00 pm

Re: Using TortoiseSVN and Compiling

#7 Post by Nighthawk »

On visual basic C++ express, I now get this error:
Unable to start program 'C:\Users\username\Desktop\FreeorionVS2010_SDK\FreeOrion\msvc2010\GiGi\.../../GiGi.dll'.
(System: Windows 7 64 Bit, 4 GB DDR2 800 RAM, Phenom II 940, GTX 260)

User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 13587
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

Re: Using TortoiseSVN and Compiling

#8 Post by Geoff the Medio »

You appear to have pressed the Visual Studio run button, possibly while selecting the GiGi project. Use the Build Solution command under the Build menu.

Or, make sure that "FreeOrion" is the startup project, not GiGi.

User avatar
Nighthawk
Space Squid
Posts: 76
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 11:00 pm

Re: Using TortoiseSVN and Compiling

#9 Post by Nighthawk »

I finally had a good look at the Source Code. It made me dizzy. I suppose not knowing much C++ (the extent of my knowledge is a very small amount of Java [which I'm learning for AP Comp Sci now], and some Visual Basic).
"A walking tour of the Free Orion source code, perhaps?" :P haha.

Hopefully I'll be able to be more useful sometime soon.

Post Reply