Orion display glitch

Problems and solutions for installing or running FreeOrion, including discussion of bugs if needed before posting a bug report on GitHub. For problems building from source, post in Compile.

Moderator: Oberlus

Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
irrevenant
Space Krill
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2008 8:48 am

Orion display glitch

#1 Post by irrevenant »

I downloaded and installed FreeOrion 3.10 onto my laptop running vista.

When I open it, it looks like the attached and I have no idea what's wrong.

Can anyone please help?

Thanks.
Attachments
forionglitch.jpg
forionglitch.jpg (17.45 KiB) Viewed 984 times

User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 12725
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

Re: Orion display glitch

#2 Post by Geoff the Medio »

This looks to be the same as this bug. Unless a driver update helps, likely we don't know how to fix it.

User avatar
igrok
Space Krill
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2008 4:43 am
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Re: Orion display glitch

#3 Post by igrok »

Just judging by what I see here, OpenGL primitives are being drawn correctly (the background of the window pane and buttons) but textured objects are not.

I guess that leaves a lot of possibilities, but driver issues would make sense. Instead of loading the correct texture from the PNG file, a completely opaque texture is loaded.

User avatar
irrevenant
Space Krill
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2008 8:48 am

Re: Orion display glitch

#4 Post by irrevenant »

Thanks. I was stupid enough to believe Vista when it insisted that I already had the latest drivers.

I've installed the latest version of the driver and Free Orion works now.

Post Reply