Does freeorion need "no starlane" option present day?

Programmers discuss here anything related to FreeOrion programming. Primarily for the developers to discuss.

Moderators: Committer, Committer

Post Reply
Message
Author
o01eg
Programmer
Posts: 481
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 5:46 am

Does freeorion need "no starlane" option present day?

#1 Post by o01eg » Tue Apr 02, 2019 7:24 pm

I'm moving galaxy setup options to common code and found out there is a compiled-in option ALLOW_NO_STARLANES. It set to false from very old times and never changed in the code. Is it still relevant now? Could it be deleted with the code using it?
Gentoo Linux x64, gcc-8.3, boost-1.65.0
Ubuntu Server 18.04 x64, gcc-7.4, boost-1.65.1
Welcome to slow multiplayer game at freeorion-lt.dedyn.io. Version 2019-10-13.49f7896.
Donates are welcome: BTC:14XLekD9ifwqLtZX4iteepvbLQNYVG87zK

User avatar
Oberlus
Cosmic Dragon
Posts: 1494
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 4:25 pm

Re: Does freeorion need "no starlane" option present day?

#2 Post by Oberlus » Sat Apr 06, 2019 7:44 pm

I have no idea about this, but if it is related to the no_starlanes option at the game starting configuration, I'd appreciate it to continue in the game. I liked that form of FreeOrion.
Pleasepleaseplease, join fifth multiplayer slow game!

o01eg
Programmer
Posts: 481
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 5:46 am

Re: Does freeorion need "no starlane" option present day?

#3 Post by o01eg » Sat Apr 06, 2019 7:52 pm

Oberlus wrote:
Sat Apr 06, 2019 7:44 pm
I have no idea about this, but if it is related to the no_starlanes option at the game starting configuration, I'd appreciate it to continue in the game. I liked that form of FreeOrion.
It requires to rebuild FreeOrion with this options enabled. As I understand in that mode players required to research starline techs to expand. Is it playable?

So why not make this options always allowed? I opened PR with this options disabled, should I change it to enabled? https://github.com/freeorion/freeorion/pull/2415
Gentoo Linux x64, gcc-8.3, boost-1.65.0
Ubuntu Server 18.04 x64, gcc-7.4, boost-1.65.1
Welcome to slow multiplayer game at freeorion-lt.dedyn.io. Version 2019-10-13.49f7896.
Donates are welcome: BTC:14XLekD9ifwqLtZX4iteepvbLQNYVG87zK

User avatar
Oberlus
Cosmic Dragon
Posts: 1494
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 4:25 pm

Re: Does freeorion need "no starlane" option present day?

#4 Post by Oberlus » Sat Apr 06, 2019 9:47 pm

I guess I was not talking about the same. I meant the option for "Starlanes Everywhere" in the Test tab of Galaxy setup. That does not require to recompile.

So no idea about what should be the default value or if it should be removed.
Pleasepleaseplease, join fifth multiplayer slow game!

User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 12456
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

Re: Does freeorion need "no starlane" option present day?

#5 Post by Geoff the Medio » Sun Apr 07, 2019 2:51 pm

This is different from the starlanes everywhere option. I think that in the current universe generation scripts, the no starlanes option isn't supported anyway.

Post Reply