Can't load saves in v4720

Problems and solutions for installing or running FreeOrion, including discussion of bugs if needed before posting a bug report on GitHub. For problems building from source, post in Compile.

Moderators: Oberlus, Oberlus

Post Reply
Message
Author
unjashfan
Creative Contributor
Posts: 175
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 8:08 am

Can't load saves in v4720

#1 Post by unjashfan » Mon Mar 12, 2012 6:18 pm

FO crashes when I try to load any save file. I even made a new game, saved immediately, closed FO, and tried to load it again but that didn't work either. Any way I can get around this?

User avatar
eleazar
Design & Graphics Lead Emeritus
Posts: 3858
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 7:09 pm
Location: USA — midwest

Re: Can't load saves in v4720

#2 Post by eleazar » Mon Mar 12, 2012 7:16 pm

You mean old save files, right? I believe you'll have to run a slightly older version or start a new game.

Code: Select all

r4715 | geoffthemedio | 2012-03-11 17:00:08 -0500 (Sun, 11 Mar 2012) | 1 line

Removed attempts at backwards compatibility with previous versions of saves in ShipDesign serialization code. For some reason, exporting ShipDesign and setting its class version doesn't work, and the result was that the newer serialization code was never being used, and consequently ship design icons weren't being sent from the server to players.

User avatar
em3
Vacuum Dragon
Posts: 608
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 2:51 pm

Re: Can't load saves in v4720

#3 Post by em3 » Mon Mar 12, 2012 8:07 pm

eleazar wrote:You mean old save files, right? I believe you'll have to run a slightly older version or start a new game.
unjashfan wrote:I even made a new game, saved immediately, closed FO, and tried to load it again but that didn't work either.
@eleazar: I believe, he meant that loading any saves at all (even new ones) crashes.
[...] for Man has earned his right to hold this planet against all comers, by virtue of occasionally producing someone totally batshit insane. - Randall Munroe, title text to xkcd #556

User avatar
eleazar
Design & Graphics Lead Emeritus
Posts: 3858
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 7:09 pm
Location: USA — midwest

Re: Can't load saves in v4720

#4 Post by eleazar » Mon Mar 12, 2012 8:32 pm

Sorry, bad job of reading all the words on my part.

User avatar
Darkspire
Space Floater
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 11:00 am
Location: My own private hell

Re: Can't load saves in v4720

#5 Post by Darkspire » Thu Mar 15, 2012 9:45 am

WinXP 32bit
Python 2.7
FO 4720

I dont whether this will help but Im now having the same problem, I loaded each save from 152 down and it loads fine at turn 79 but will crash when loading turn 80

Both saves are in the zip
http://www.mediafire.com/?3bnallx1h3v3mh3

Darkspire

User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 12631
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

Re: Can't load saves in v4720

#6 Post by Geoff the Medio » Fri Mar 16, 2012 5:55 pm

Is anyone who's built FreeOrion 4720 or later for themselves, or who is running on OSX, having similar save / load problems? From my own testing / rebuilding, this may be a weird build-rebuild problem, and not directly caused by any actual code changes, so I'd like some testing results independent of my posted builds.

User avatar
Darkspire
Space Floater
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 11:00 am
Location: My own private hell

Re: Can't load saves in v4720

#7 Post by Darkspire » Sat Mar 17, 2012 4:53 pm

Have you managed to find the problem?

At the moment im using v4666 but as your aware you cant design ships without a crash, that crash has been fixed (?) in v4720 but cant use that as you cant save :lol:

Looks like its back to SEV for a bit :(

Darkspire

User avatar
Bigjoe5
Designer and Programmer
Posts: 2058
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 6:33 pm
Location: Orion

Re: Can't load saves in v4720

#8 Post by Bigjoe5 » Sat Mar 17, 2012 5:52 pm

Geoff the Medio wrote:Is anyone who's built FreeOrion 4720 or later for themselves, or who is running on OSX, having similar save / load problems? From my own testing / rebuilding, this may be a weird build-rebuild problem, and not directly caused by any actual code changes, so I'd like some testing results independent of my posted builds.
I haven't experienced any problems like that (Windows 7).
Warning: Antarans in dimensional portal are closer than they appear.

User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 12631
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

Re: Can't load saves in v4720

#9 Post by Geoff the Medio » Sat Mar 17, 2012 6:07 pm

Darkspire wrote:Have you managed to find the problem?
Similar crashes while loading have come and gone for no apparent reason, so I think it was not a code problem, but a random result of rebuilding things too many times.

User avatar
Darkspire
Space Floater
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 11:00 am
Location: My own private hell

Re: Can't load saves in v4720

#10 Post by Darkspire » Sat Mar 17, 2012 6:47 pm

Geoff the Medio wrote:
Darkspire wrote:Have you managed to find the problem?
Similar crashes while loading have come and gone for no apparent reason, so I think it was not a code problem, but a random result of rebuilding things too many times.
Thanks, Ill wait for a new build then, just been up in the loft and found Reach For The Stars (2000), I was sure I also had the 2005 version as well but it must be in in another box, so that will keep me amused for a while :D

Thanks again

Darkspire

User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 12631
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

Re: Can't load saves in v4720

#11 Post by Geoff the Medio » Sat Mar 17, 2012 7:36 pm

Darkspire wrote:Ill wait for a new build then
I uploaded 4733 a few minutes ago; should be available soon.

User avatar
Darkspire
Space Floater
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 11:00 am
Location: My own private hell

Re: Can't load saves in v4720

#12 Post by Darkspire » Sat Mar 17, 2012 7:54 pm

Geoff the Medio wrote:
Darkspire wrote:Ill wait for a new build then
I uploaded 4733 a few minutes ago; should be available soon.
Thank you :D A night of boredom is averted

Darkspire

EDIT : It works fine, even loaded my 4666 save :D all the Archeology Specials now have the wording in the Info box and I could even ditch my rusty old Mark VIII / Laser 4 patrol ships with nice new plasma ones, the design now works as well, the broken bit where the bits that go on your ships is fixed as well, didnt look right in 4666 (the armour filter button was broken)

Just one thing though when I saved in 4666 I was all alone, upon loading in 4733 this happened

Image

Is that something to do with detection? I went to options / galaxy map and turned the purple circles on and they seem to lay over the new areas, is this a new thing? Never had this happen before. Oh and not sure if there was anything done to the way your overall population is worked out but as you can see in the image mine is in the red, when it was saved it was in the green, 4.8, I think.
Oe last thing what is the big cloud round my home planet? Does that signify where your empires capital is?

User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 12631
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

Re: Can't load saves in v4720

#13 Post by Geoff the Medio » Sat Mar 17, 2012 8:47 pm

Darkspire wrote:Is that something to do with detection? I went to options / galaxy map and turned the purple circles on and they seem to lay over the new areas...
Quite possibly; Bigjoe5 and eleazar have committed a bunch of content changes recently.

Post Reply