[MAC] Game Window bigger than desktop

Problems and solutions for installing or running FreeOrion, including discussion of bugs if needed before posting a bug report on GitHub. For problems building from source, post in Compile.

Moderators: Oberlus, Oberlus

Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
Thursdaybloom
Krill Swarm
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2009 8:36 am

[MAC] Game Window bigger than desktop

#1 Post by Thursdaybloom » Tue Sep 29, 2009 8:52 am

I've just downloaded and installed FreeOrion for the Mac (from SourceForge 'FreeOrion-0.3.13-MacOSX-i386-p1.zip') and the app window it runs in is bigger then my desktop and I have no access to the bottom of the screen. This becomes obvious when in the Research menu (see pic). I managed to resize the window eventually, but it didn't scale the images with it and was left with a larger region of inaccessibility.

Also, when in game FreeOrion takes complete control over the cursor and I have to CMD/Alt-TAB on the keyboard to change windows and get it back. Is this normal? It's not all that much of a concern, I was just wondering if it's a bug or not. I also use Boxer (DOSBox) and in that you can toggle whether the cursor is locked to the app window or not.

Regards,
Thursdaybloom


Image
You can see here my dock covers the bottom of the screen.

User avatar
pd
Graphics Lead Emeritus
Posts: 1924
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2004 6:17 pm
Location: 52°16'N 10°31'E

Re: [MAC] Game Window bigger than desktop

#2 Post by pd » Tue Sep 29, 2009 10:28 am

You can change the resolution in options or by manually editing the config.xml.

User avatar
Thursdaybloom
Krill Swarm
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2009 8:36 am

Re: [MAC] Game Window bigger than desktop

#3 Post by Thursdaybloom » Tue Sep 29, 2009 10:33 am

Wow thanks! It's always the easiest solutions that end up being the hardest to notice.

*walks away feeling stupid* :oops:

User avatar
pd
Graphics Lead Emeritus
Posts: 1924
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2004 6:17 pm
Location: 52°16'N 10°31'E

Re: [MAC] Game Window bigger than desktop

#4 Post by pd » Tue Sep 29, 2009 10:39 am

Glad I could help. Let us know what you think about the game. It's not too much fun to play yet, but a lot of the game mechanics work and can be explored.

User avatar
Thursdaybloom
Krill Swarm
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2009 8:36 am

Re: [MAC] Game Window bigger than desktop

#5 Post by Thursdaybloom » Tue Sep 29, 2009 10:55 am

I will. I think the project is fascinating, I'm glad I stumbled upon it. I don't know any coding/programming though so unfortunately I doubt I can contribute - besides finding "errors" I suppose.

User avatar
Bigjoe5
Designer and Programmer
Posts: 2058
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 6:33 pm
Location: Orion

Re: [MAC] Game Window bigger than desktop

#6 Post by Bigjoe5 » Tue Sep 29, 2009 2:40 pm

There are a lot of ways to contribute that don't involve programming. Once you've familiarized yourself with the game, feel free to contribute to any of the ongoing discussions in the various Design boards.
Warning: Antarans in dimensional portal are closer than they appear.

User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 12642
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

Re: [MAC] Game Window bigger than desktop

#7 Post by Geoff the Medio » Tue Sep 29, 2009 2:56 pm

Thursdaybloom wrote:Also, when in game FreeOrion takes complete control over the cursor and I have to CMD/Alt-TAB on the keyboard to change windows and get it back. Is this normal? It's not all that much of a concern, I was just wondering if it's a bug or not. I also use Boxer (DOSBox) and in that you can toggle whether the cursor is locked to the app window or not.
This is a property of the Ogre input system that's currently being used, and which is not very good. In windows, you can edit OISInput.cfg in the main freeorion directory so say w32_mouse=DISCL_NONEXCLUSIVE instead of DISCL_EXCLUSIVE but that most likely won't work on OSX. There might be an equivalent, or the X11 entries might affect OSX, but it's not obvious from the file and I don't have any way to test.
pd wrote:You can change the resolution in options or by manually editing the config.xml.
There are also resolution controls in the options video tab. These "should" work, but can be buggy as well, depending on the OS.

User avatar
pd
Graphics Lead Emeritus
Posts: 1924
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2004 6:17 pm
Location: 52°16'N 10°31'E

Re: [MAC] Game Window bigger than desktop

#8 Post by pd » Tue Sep 29, 2009 3:10 pm

That's what I meant with options :)

User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 12642
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

Re: [MAC] Game Window bigger than desktop

#9 Post by Geoff the Medio » Mon Jan 25, 2010 9:56 am

Geoff the Medio wrote:This is a property of the Ogre input system that's currently being used, and which is not very good.
Looks like the mouse grabbing is a limitation of OIS on Mac OSX. This post seems to be related and providing a patch to OIS, but doesn't seem to be getting much attention on their forums: http://www.wreckedgames.com/forum/index ... ml#msg6305

Post Reply