obscure scons configure problems - solution

Questions, problems and discussion about compiling FreeOrion.

Moderator: Oberlus

Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
kroddn
Static Linker
Posts: 347
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 10:28 am

obscure scons configure problems - solution

#1 Post by kroddn »

While upgrading to boost 1.35 I encountered massive problems.

One obscure problem was, that config.log mentioned the following line:

Code: Select all

scons: Configure: ".sconf_temp/conftest_5.o" is up to date.
scons: Configure: The original builder output was:
  |g++ -o .sconf_temp/conftest_5.o -c -pthread -D_GNU_SOURCE=1 -D_REENTRANT -I/usr/include/python2.4 -I/usr/local/include -I/usr/include/SDL -IGG .sconf_temp/conftest_5.cpp
  |
g++ -o .sconf_temp/conftest_5 -pthread .sconf_temp/conftest_5.o -L/usr/lib -L/usr/local/lib -LGG -lpython2.5 -lGiGiSDL -lIL -lILU -lGiGi -lboost_signals -lboost_system -lboost_filesystem -lboost_thread -lGL -lGLU -lfreetype -lz -lSDL -lboost_serialization-gcc42-mt-1_35
g++: .sconf_temp/conftest_5.o: No such file or directory
scons: Configure: no
The file .sconf_temp/conftest_5.o did NOT exist and was not created.

Searching google a long time finally gave solution:
remove the file .sconsign.dblite

After that, the configure succeeds

Some other hints I will wrote down here:
  • First of all enter GG directory and rebuild it at a whole. Be sure to do a scons install, so that the package-config files are installed properly.
  • Remove config.cache and options.cache
  • On my system the lib boost-python is not found, because it is named boost_python-gcc42-mt-1_35-py25, and boost_python-gcc42-mt-1_35 is expected. I solved this by NOT specifying a boost-suffix.

User avatar
loonycyborg
Compilation Expert
Posts: 219
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2006 10:30 pm
Location: Russia/Moscow

Re: obscure scons configure problems - solution

#2 Post by loonycyborg »

kroddn wrote: The file .sconf_temp/conftest_5.o did NOT exist and was not created.

Searching google a long time finally gave solution:
remove the file .sconsign.dblite
If you'll run scons --config=force instead, you won't get full recompile..
This is most likely an instance of this bug:
http://scons.tigris.org/issues/show_bug.cgi?id=1423
In Soviet Russia, forum posts YOU!!

User avatar
kroddn
Static Linker
Posts: 347
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 10:28 am

Re: obscure scons configure problems - solution

#3 Post by kroddn »

I think its a good idea to do a full recompile after upgrading a lib.

Post Reply