Question about galaxy size

For topics that do not fit in another sub-forum.

Moderator: Oberlus

imperiusdamian
Space Krill

Question about galaxy size

#1 Post by imperiusdamian »

Hi all,

Newbie here, although I've long been a lover of space-based 4X games like MoO2 and GalCiv. FreeOrion is looking very promising!

Anyhow, onto my question. I saw in the Single Player option that the default number of systems in a galaxy is 150. I was able to generate a galaxy with 999 systems, so I'm curious: is there a practical upper limit, or is it limited only by performance?

(I'm also a programmer, so don't be afraid to get technical!)

MatGB
Creative Contributor

Re: Question about galaxy size

#2 Post by MatGB »

The hardcoded upper limit is 5000 (I think), but unless you've got an incredibly powerful machine you'll find lag kicks in at much lower than that.

As the game progresses, the more effects you have, especially population centres (ie planets), the more work it has to do to do anything, especially in production. Lag can become noticeable and even game breakingly bad depending on size of game and machine power (on my old laptop I found having more than 150 populated planets made the game too slow to be worth playing, the same applied for roughly 200+ ships, I haven't played enough on my new desktop to work out what the limits are but it's higher).

With reasonable graphics and RAM you should be OK at way over 150, and if you find it starts to slow too much but you like larger maps then setting Planets to Low helps, and I'd personally love to have a machine capable of running a full 5000 system map, if I win the lottery it's On The List ;-)

(edit: both the 150 planets and 200 ships limit was in my empire, fairly sure the AIs would have an effect but it's not so bad for the client)
Mat Bowles

Any code or patches in anything posted here is released under the CC and GPL licences in use for the FO project.

Dilvish
AI Lead and Programmer Emeritus