A bunch of questions from a beginner

For topics that do not fit in another sub-forum.

Moderator: Oberlus

Rogor
Space Floater

A bunch of questions from a beginner

#1 Post by Rogor »

Hi everyone,

I have just discovered FO, and I got some questions/feedback from a total beginner. The only manual/beginner's guide I saw is the Quick play guide from the wiki, but if I may have missed something.

So for my questions :

- What are the prerequisites to build a ship from an asteroid hull ? I researched the technology (Asteroid Hulls), built an outpost on an asteroid belt, built a Basic Spaceyard on it, then an Orbital Drydock and an Asteroid Processor. Then I went to the design menu, and the hulls 'Heavy Asteroid Hull' and 'Small Asteroid Hull' appeared under the 'Available' tab. I selected a bunch of ship parts and saved my design. Then in the production menu, the ship appears under the 'unavailable' tag. The tooltip however says that every condition is 'PASSED'. Am I missing something ?

- I also declared war to an AI thinking (foolishly ...) that he had no fleet. But then my fleet started to take some serious damage when I was in orbit of its planet, and then some of my planets were attacked. But in every case, I did not see a single ship, not did I damaged a single of its ships. I assumed it was because all its ships were cloaked, so I built some ships with a basic detector (an Optical scanner), and the same thing happened to this fleet. So I was wondering if its ships were really well cloaked, or if something else was happening ...

- Is there any information about how the combat works ?

- I have never worked on a C++ project of this scale, but I'd like to help with the programming (I have some experience with C++ though). Is there any documentation or explanation of the overall structure except for Programming page on the wiki ?

And some bug/missing features :