Balancing Colony Output

For topics that do not fit in another sub-forum.

Moderators: Oberlus, Oberlus

Post Reply
Message
Author
N'Gah-K'Thun
Space Krill
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 12:11 pm

Balancing Colony Output

#1 Post by N'Gah-K'Thun » Tue Jan 24, 2012 12:23 pm

First - kudos to you from Yuggoth! You have the feel of the game correct. This is what is missing from ALL of the other 4x games I have attempted over the years :D

SE V doesn't have it, SOAS and SOTS totally didn't have it, and MOOIII definitely was missing it.

Second is a question - downloaded 3.17 and cannot get a secondary focus or balance "4 way" arrow to show for a colony per the wiki. Is this not yet implemented or am I missing something? It's an important early game requirement as keeping the lanes open and monster-free is difficult with a focus on expansion. Early colonies need to support themselves even when blockaded. Haven't had any problems building colony ships but have had a bit with resources. I can wait for the combat if the strategy works :lol:

This is the first interesting 4x project I've seen...

Cheers / Robert

User avatar
eleazar
Design & Graphics Lead Emeritus
Posts: 3858
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 7:09 pm
Location: USA — midwest

Re: Balancing Colony Output

#2 Post by eleazar » Tue Jan 24, 2012 3:56 pm

Thanks for the kind comments! :)

The balanced and secondary foci was removed from the game earlier. Often the documentation gets out of date.

I think there is general agreement that something needs to be added back in to allow a less focused production, and that's probably something we'll be "focusing" on after we finish up the 0.4.0 release.

N'Gah-K'Thun
Space Krill
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 12:11 pm

Re: Balancing Colony Output

#3 Post by N'Gah-K'Thun » Tue Jan 24, 2012 10:13 pm

Documentation may be something I can assist on - am good at tech writing but no MHTML's under my belt yet, and couldn't program my way out of a bag! I could probably crank out a 4.0 set of instructions. If you are interested I have a MOOII guide junior and I updated that turned out pretty good for an example. Every bit of min-maxing everyone wrenched out of that game is fully documented :P

On the "focus" issue, maybe keep the focus button? It has the imperial feel of "go and do this." And possibly a default balance state at colonization and a balance button next to it that makes adequate food and spreads the rest out? Easy, simple, and it puts the penalty on the emperor if the citizens start to starve...

Cheers / Robert

User avatar
eleazar
Design & Graphics Lead Emeritus
Posts: 3858
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 7:09 pm
Location: USA — midwest

Re: Balancing Colony Output

#4 Post by eleazar » Tue Jan 24, 2012 10:25 pm

N'Gah-K'Thun wrote:Documentation may be something I can assist on - am good at tech writing but no MHTML's under my belt yet, and couldn't program my way out of a bag! I could probably crank out a 4.0 set of instructions. If you are interested I have a MOOII guide junior and I updated that turned out pretty good for an example. Every bit of min-maxing everyone wrenched out of that game is fully documented :P
Yes, please do. :D Our documentation is wiki-based, so all you need to do is get an account. It is to a large degree put together by the players.

N'Gah-K'Thun wrote:On the "focus" issue, maybe keep the focus button? It has the imperial feel of "go and do this." And possibly a default balance state at colonization and a balance button next to it that makes adequate food and spreads the rest out? Easy, simple, and it puts the penalty on the emperor if the citizens start to starve...
It's not a issue of buttons, but of math. The way foci are calculated doesn't make "spreading the rest out" practicable, as i understand it.

User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 12482
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

Re: Balancing Colony Output

#5 Post by Geoff the Medio » Tue Jan 24, 2012 11:39 pm

eleazar wrote:Our documentation is wiki-based, so all you need to do is get an account.
To get an account on the wiki, pm me a username and optionally an email address. General account creation has been disabled due to spam registrants.

N'Gah-K'Thun
Space Krill
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 12:11 pm

Re: Balancing Colony Output

#6 Post by N'Gah-K'Thun » Thu Jan 26, 2012 11:16 am

PM sent - apologies for noob idea submission w/o reading design philosophy first - it's a good plan you have.

Cheers / Robert

User avatar
eleazar
Design & Graphics Lead Emeritus
Posts: 3858
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 7:09 pm
Location: USA — midwest

Re: Balancing Colony Output

#7 Post by eleazar » Thu Jan 26, 2012 5:34 pm

No apologies necessary. :)
I just usually takes some time to get oriented with the a large complicated project like this.

Zireael
Space Dragon
Posts: 429
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 5:33 pm

Re: Balancing Colony Output

#8 Post by Zireael » Thu Jan 26, 2012 8:11 pm

N'Gah-K'Thun - thanks for reminding me of updating the quick play guide. RL got in the way. Any mentions of balanced focus are now gone for good, I double checked. The guide should be relevant for all available .exe builds of 0.3.17 (from the Current Windows Builds thread) and for 0.4 RC 2.

Post Reply