MOO on linux

Talk about strategy games like MoO series, Civilization, Europa Universalis, etc.

Moderators: Oberlus, Oberlus

Post Reply
Message
Author
dstjames
Space Floater
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 3:31 pm
Location: Detroit MI USA

MOO on linux

#1 Post by dstjames » Fri Oct 21, 2005 7:29 pm

Has anyone gotten MOO or MOO 2 to run under linux with wine?

I'm a linux newb but when I tried to run moo it locked up my PC.

Anyone have any luck?

User avatar
Tyreth
FreeOrion Lead Emeritus
Posts: 885
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2003 6:23 am
Location: Australia

#2 Post by Tyreth » Sat Oct 22, 2005 12:35 am

What are you using to run it?

You may try dosbox. I think I've had MOO2 running in Linux before, but I can't remember what I used.

http://dosbox.sourceforge.net/

User avatar
bhelyer
Space Floater
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2007 3:51 am

Re: MOO on linux

#3 Post by bhelyer » Thu Aug 30, 2007 9:23 am

Well, I can't comment on Master of Orion 2, but the original works a treat on Dosbox, sound included (running on Debian Etch).

User avatar
Orz
Space Krill
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:59 pm

Re: MOO on linux

#4 Post by Orz » Sat Jan 19, 2008 3:24 pm

MOO2 runs fine under a QEMU virtual machine with Windows 98 as the guest OS.

User avatar
siron
Space Floater
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2005 4:01 pm

Re: MOO on linux

#5 Post by siron » Sat Feb 02, 2008 3:12 pm

We have several linux users who use DOSBox without any problem:

http://masteroforion2.blogspot.com/2006 ... guide.html
Image

freereign
Space Squid
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 4:40 pm

Re: MOO on linux

#6 Post by freereign » Mon Mar 24, 2008 5:27 pm

I run both MoO and MoO2 perfectly using DOSBox. For MoO2 you need to run Orion2.exe, not Orion95.exe (which is for Win95 and results in a WINE crash). MoO is so old it doesn't run in WINE. Like I said, both run great using DOSBox.
MoO: Darloks Rule!
MoO2: Custom Darloks Rule!
MoO3: Dunno cuz I'm a cheapskate

User avatar
utilae
Cosmic Dragon
Posts: 2175
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2003 12:37 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: MOO on linux

#7 Post by utilae » Tue Mar 25, 2008 7:37 am

I run Master Of Orion 2 no problem in Windows XP. I think I have some magical windows 95 version. :)

User avatar
Flatline
Space Squid
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 2:06 pm
Location: Oxford (UK)

Re: MOO on linux

#8 Post by Flatline » Tue Mar 25, 2008 11:21 am

Moo2 runs fine in linux with wine, you just need to activate in winecfg "Emulate virtual desktop" (which is a bit annoying 'cause it will probably break other apps, like for example civ4).
The only difference between a suicide and a martyrdom is press coverage.
- Chuck Palahniuk (Survivor)

Ubuntu 7.10/Windows Vista/Windows XP (VMWare)/Windows NT 4 (VMWare) on Intel Centrino Duo [email protected] with NVidia GeForce GO 7600

freereign
Space Squid
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 4:40 pm

Re: MOO on linux

#9 Post by freereign » Tue Mar 25, 2008 1:37 pm

utilae I have the same version, and I do occasionally run that on WinXP (runs faster, but then I have to run Windows, which is not the purpose of this thread). Running it in Wine, even with emulate virtual desktop, crashes.
MoO: Darloks Rule!
MoO2: Custom Darloks Rule!
MoO3: Dunno cuz I'm a cheapskate

User avatar
Flatline
Space Squid
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 2:06 pm
Location: Oxford (UK)

Re: MOO on linux

#10 Post by Flatline » Tue Mar 25, 2008 4:37 pm

I'm running it without a problem. Remember to mount your MoO2 CD/ISO image (I use the latter).

The only thing I had to change was setting the Emulate Virtual Desktop flag, and put a desktop size of 800x600. I had to change for Civ4 the vertex shader support stuff, but it is not used by MoO2, and anyway it works with both configurations... I run Ubuntu 7.10 and my wine version is 0.9.46.
The only difference between a suicide and a martyrdom is press coverage.
- Chuck Palahniuk (Survivor)

Ubuntu 7.10/Windows Vista/Windows XP (VMWare)/Windows NT 4 (VMWare) on Intel Centrino Duo [email protected] with NVidia GeForce GO 7600

freereign
Space Squid
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 4:40 pm

Re: MOO on linux

#11 Post by freereign » Tue Mar 25, 2008 4:48 pm

I run Ubuntu 8.04 Beta and wine 0.9.58

I copied all the files to my computer so I don't have to have the CD. Which was fortunate because last night I accidentally stepped on it and it cracked in half! Oh well, I run it perfectly in DOSBox, and the important thing is that it runs!
MoO: Darloks Rule!
MoO2: Custom Darloks Rule!
MoO3: Dunno cuz I'm a cheapskate

User avatar
vivianne
Space Krill
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2008 12:57 am

Re: MOO on linux

#12 Post by vivianne » Thu Jul 17, 2008 6:09 am

Flatline wrote:Moo2 runs fine in linux with wine, you just need to activate in winecfg "Emulate virtual desktop" (which is a bit annoying 'cause it will probably break other apps, like for example civ4).
Hello,

Wow! Its nice to hear that their are games that compatible to Linux with the use of wine. Thanks the information.

See yah around.
"Love can sometimes be magic. But magic can sometimes…just be an illusion."

User avatar
utilae
Cosmic Dragon
Posts: 2175
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2003 12:37 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: MOO on linux

#13 Post by utilae » Fri Jul 18, 2008 11:29 am

Would you believe it!!!

My only good (working in win xp) copy of Moo2 was stolen from me lol.

Hmmm, vivianne you are unusually positive.

Post Reply